My Ryzen Benchmark Roundup

It’s been an exciting few months lately.  Lots of new product has come out and I have been fortunate enough to have gotten my hands on a few of the new AMD Ryzen CPUs.  You can read back at my last few posts about some of the testing I have done with them.  In this post I want to take those results and put them side by side to see some of the comparisons between them.  As a refresh, I am using the Gigabyte x370 Gaming 5 motherboard with Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 960 EVO m.2 NVME SSD and a XFX RX480 GTR 8GB Black Edition GPU.

Cinebench OpenGLCinebench CPU MultiCinebench CPU Single Core

Here are the results to the Cinebench benchmark.  The multi thread performance difference was expected but it seems the Ryzen 5 1600x came out on top with the better single core performance with the Ryzen 7 1700x standing 3rd.  The 1700x did have about 15 FPS extra on the OpenGL test of it thought to the multi core/thread utilization seemed to help it there.

Valley

In Unigine Valley, the average FPS were all pretty much the same. Slight score dip on the 1600x but overall the same.

Heaven

Unigine Heaven was pretty much the same way.  Doesn’t seem the CPU is affecting this performance test of graphics.

Time Spy

We can see how Time Spy utilized the CPU with the decrease in overall score and CPU score from the top down.

Fire Strike

With Fire Strike we can see some differences in how things play together.  The overall score and physics scores flowed from top to bottom but the graphics scores were the opposite.  This along with other measurements caused the combined scores to fluctuate putting the 1600x on top.

Dirt

Now onto the few games I had benchmarks for.  This one was a bit surprising.  With the 1700x and 1600x being near identical, DiRT Rally seemed to like the 1500x the best with a 15 FPS average over the other two.

Division FPSDivision Usage

Now on the other hand, The Division stayed pretty identical as far as FPS was concerned.  The biggest factor here that the benchmark showed was how much CPU usage was used during the test.  With an 18% jump from 27-45 percent utilization, the Ryzen 7 1700x and it’s 8 cores and 16 threads helped keep CPU utilization down while playing this game.  That can come in handy if you are multitasking while gaming (streaming, videos, chat…).

I know it’s only two games but there is a difference in how different games utilize the PC components.  I will get some gaming benchmarks for Ghost Recon Wildlands as I work my way back up to the 1700x.  That is a very resource intensive game but I can tell you this. I have played the game on all 3 chips so far and I honestly say I cannot tell a difference in performance from just playing it.  The game still runs nicely and looks amazing.  I have never been one for the numbers but I put this together for the people that do like that sort of thing.  It all depends on how you want to utilize your system and what you plan to use it for.  Every game will be slightly different but it you do anything else besides gaming, perhaps video editing or music production, the extra cores/threads can be utilized better and make things quicker and smoother.  I ripped a DVD in about 5 minutes on my 1700x to put on a tablet.  Rendered a 5 minutes song very quickly.  Those types of things are invaluable to me when time is of the essence.

Feel free to comment below or on social media with any thoughts or questions on anything.

Leave a Reply

