Ryzen 5 1600X and 1500X Comparison

*The Ryzen CPUs were provided to me from AMD.  The opinions on the product are my own

Well, well, well.  What do we have here? Two more CPUs from the new AMD Ryzen 5 line.  How do that fare against the Ryzen 7 line?  I’ll show you a few tests.

On the left we have the Ryzen 5 1600x and on the right we have the Ryzen 5 1500x CPU-Z Bench scores.  Both CPUs for all tests are run at stock speeds (1600x @ 3.6 GHz and 1500x @ 3.5 GHz) with Windows High-Precision Event Timer (HPET) disabled and XMP enabled for the RAM.

Cinebench had a small difference of about 6 FPS difference on the OpenGL but the big jump in the with adding the extra cores and threads. Rendering the image was noticeably faster with the 1600x.

A whole 1 point difference with identical FPS between the 2 CPUs.  No effect on this test.

On Unigine Valley, the 1500x had a slightly higher score while basically maintaining the same (0.6 FPS difference) frames per second. Again, no real effect with this test.

There was a 440 point increase on the 1600x with the Fire Strike test.

A few hundred point increase with the 1600x as well on the Time Spy test.

Now we do a bit of a flip-a-roo with DiRT Rally.  The test was ran on Ultra preset. The 1500x came out with a 15 FPS increase over the 1600x.  The min and max FPS was also 10-20 FPS higher over the 1600x.

With The Division on Ultra, the outcomes were near identical…except that the 1500x used 12% more CPU pulling 45% average CPU utilization.  Depending on what else you have going on with your PC, dedicate half of it to this game on Ultra if using the 1500x.

I did not do the Ashes of the Singularity benchmark with these two CPUs becasue of the fact that the developer released an optimization update to the game which GREATLY increased performance of that game on the Ryzen chips.

Overall, both CPUs are pretty awesome.  I did game on both a few nights with wonderful performance.  Smooth game play and not real noticeable difference while gaming to me.  I also have been streaming with my Ryzen 7 1700x and gaming and I did so with the Ryzen 5 1600x as well.  All streams went well and I didn’t notice any compromise to the games while streaming.  0 dropped frames with my 720p 60fps streams that I run on http://www.twitch.tv/amd channel as well as my own.

Stay tuned for my quick comparison chart of all my tests between the Ryzen 7 1700x and these two chips.

 

Leave a Reply

