BENCHMARK ALL THE THINGS!

*The AMD Ryzen 7 1700x, RAM, Motherboard and cooler were provided to me from AMD.  Opinions are my own.

 

Everyone loves benchmarks, right? Sure.  That’s what I always see people using to compare performance of this and that.  I normally don’t run these but I decided to give it a go.  If you look back at my Ryzen box that I got from AMD, you will see the main components.  I am using an XFX RX480 GTR Black Edition 8GB model for a GPU.  All settings on the PC are stock except I enabled XMP for the RAM in BIOS.  I am not one for overclocking but I may get into that in the future. So far I am very pleased with the overall performance.  All benchmarks were ran on extreme/ultra presets.  Let’s take a look.

CPUZ

Here’s what we go going on here (full results here).  A quick bench determined this:

CPUZBench

Not too shabby of a CPU if you ask me.

UnigineHeaven

A very popular benchmark know as Unigine Heaven provided these results.

UnigineValley

From the same developer, Unigine Valley provided a similar average while min/max were lower. The GPU is indeed an 8GB but these benchmarks only show it as 4GB.

Cinebench

A run from Cinebench gave great results in multi-core CPU rendering.  Also, shown is single core and OpenGL results.

TimeSpy

 

Here are the Time Spy results for my combo.  I am running the 17.3.1 version of the driver so since it is not WHQL, it is not considered valid. Full results here.

Firestrike

Fire strike results as well. Same thing with the driver. Full results here.

Now onto the 3 games I have installed with included benchmarks.

AotSGPUAotSCPU

These are the results for Ashes of the Singularity.  The top image is GPU bound and the bottom image is CPU bound.  I have never even attempted to play this game so I’m not sure how actual game play is.

Next up is DiRT Rally.  Showing here is the Ultra settings with some fantastic results in my honest opinion.  Game looks great when playing.

Tom Clancy's The Division™2017-3-17-20-41-10Tom Clancy's The Division™2017-3-17-20-40-44

Lastly, we have Tom Clancy’s The Division.  One of my more recent favorite games.  Ultra preset and it ran 60+ fps in the benchmark.  I can say that it runs higher during game play as well.  Only 27% CPU workload on average so not do strenuous on it.

I hope the benchmarks provided you with some helpful information be it good or bad.  So far with a few days of having the new system up and running, I must say I really enjoy it.  More info will come along as I get it so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

