My Single PC OBS Settings

I have been asked by many different people about what I use for streaming. My setup is really pretty basic in terms of a live streaming setup. You can check out My Rig to see my gear. Here I’ll show you my Open Broadcasting Software (OBS) settings for what I do.

I don’t stream very often. Usually once a week for AMD and maybe once every couple weeks for the ATeam Gaming Community. My rig is perfectly capable of handling a stream and playing a game at the same time with some decent visual effects. Here are the settings.

general
The General tab is pretty default from what I remember. I don’t believe I touched anything here.

stream
The Stream tab is where you select you streaming service from the drop down and put in your specific key. For Twitch you obtain that through your dashboard settings on their website. It is unique to you so don’t share it unless you want others streaming on your channel. I selected the server with the lowest ping for me. Check out this tool here for a nice way to figure that out.

output
On the Output tab is where the most crucial settings lie. First I dropped the top option to Advanced to see more settings.  I have an RX480 GPU and FX8370 CPU so I am using the H264 Encoder from AMD.  Encoder settings are enforced and I am NOT rescaling the output.  All I did for the next part was drop the preset down to Twitch, made the Quality preset to Quality and adjusted my Target Bitrate.  I am only on an 6 Mbps upload speed so I dropped from 3500 to 2500 just for some leaway.

audio

For the Audio Tab, I made sure the sample rates is at 44.1khz which is standard CD audio quality.  These settings are going to be dependant on your hardware.  For the Desktop Audio Device I chose the audio adapter used to hear the game.  For the Mic/Auxiliary Audio Device I chose the input for my microphone.  I have an outboard interface for an XLR mic so it is different.  I disabled the ones not in use so they don’t show up as options.  Rest of the settings are default but a preference to you.

video

The Video tab is also where how hard you hardware is going to be working.  I match the Base and Output resolution at 1920×1080 with the Downscale Filter at Bicubic.  I put the FPS at 30 personally.  Pushing that up to 60 with really stress the CPU especially when gaming at a high resolution all on the same machine.

advanced

The Advanced tab has a few more settings.  I leave the process priority at High so it takes precedent one CPU utilization.  Rendered at Direc3D11.  Rest of the settings are default.  You can change things up if you are doing recording as well.

The Hotkey tab is all preference as well and doesn’t have an affect on the stream quality. Your dependant hardware will have an impact on the quality of the stream.  You may need to make some adjustments for camera quality or audio levels/delays accordingly.  Test Test Test.  And when you think it’s good, test again.  Things always change so do tests with any sort of updates you get on software or hardware.

Feel free to comment below with any questions you may have or head over to the AMD Red Team Discord where there are lots of veteran streamers with all sorts of setups.

– The Saga

Leave a Reply

